St Cajetan’s Church, Old Goa

The Church of Divine Providence (also called as St. Cajetan’s Church) was built between 1556 – 1661. The Italian architects Carlo Ferrarini and Francesco Maria Milazzo modelled its architecture on the lines of St. Peter’s Basilica in Rome. A majestic dome sits on the church with a message inscribed in the cornice of the dome in Latin saying: Therefore seek first the kingdom of God and His justice, and all these will also be added to you.

An archway known as the Arch of the Viceroys leads one to the ferry wharf, taking people to the island of Diwar. An original inscription which is still visible on the arch records that the arch was built by Governor Francisco da Gama (1597 – 1600), in the memory of his great grandfather, Vasco da Gama.

Location: Old Goa

Distance from Panjim: Around 11 Km

For us at Planet-Goa, our team is driven by that feeling of exhilaration that one gets when discovering that something ‘unique’ and ‘new’ about Goa for our ever-so-discerning readers.



Author: Planet Goa Team
For us at Planet-Goa, our team is driven by that feeling of exhilaration that one gets when discovering that something ‘unique’ and ‘new’ about Goa for our ever-so-discerning readers.

Leave a Reply